Summit Sierra Team

Summit supports a world-class teaching faculty who come from the nation’s top teacher preparation programs and care deeply about their students. Our teachers focus on building relationships with students and families, coaching students to become truly empowered learners, and collaborating with like-minded, mission-driven colleagues.

Picture of Malia Burns

Malia Burns

School Leader
mburns@summitps.org
Malia was born on Kauai, graduated from Seattle University, and received her Master’s in Education Leadership from Teacher’s College at Columbia University….

Denice Randle

Denice Randle

Assistant School Leader
drandle@summitps.org
L. Denice Randle is a transplant from the South and came to Washington State as a military dependent. She graduated from Pierce College and…

Picture placeholder

Tianna Lopez

Operations Manager
tlopez@summitps.org
Tianna Lopez joins us from Sunny Southern California as she spent the last eight years as Site Manager for High Tech High School, a high performing …

Picture Placeholder

Hibo Mukhtar

Operations Assistant
hmukhtar@summitps.org
Bio to come soon.

Picture of Bo Mendez

Bo Mendez

9th Grade Math

bmendez@summitps.org
Office Hours: Monday, 3:50-5:00pm

Bo Mendez grew up in Othello, WA and graduated cum laude from Central Washington University in 2014. Shortly thereafter, he joined Teach for America and …

Picture of Dustin Dacuan

Dustin Dacuan

9th Grade English

ddacuan@summitps.org
Office Hours: Tuesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Dustin, a Seattle native, comes to us after teaching English at the Orchard Gardens K-8 Pilot School in Boston. He received his B.A. in International Studies…

Picture of Erica Baba

Erica Baba

9th Grade History

ebaba@summitps.org
Office Hours: Wednesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Erica grew up in the Bay Area, CA and graduated from the University of California, San Diego with a B.A. in Sociology and a minor in Education. She earned her Master’s …

Picture of Camden Hanzlick-Burton

Camden Hanzlick-Burton

9th Grade Biology

chanzlickburton@summitps.org
Office Hours:
Wednesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Picture of Aubree Gomez

Aubree Gomez

10th Grade Math II

agomez@summitps.org
Office Hours: Monday, 3:50-5:00pm

Aubree is a proud Washington native who, prior to joining the team at Sierra, taught mathematics at West Seattle High School and Chief Sealth International High School…

Picture of Alex Rouse

Alex Rouse

10th Grade English

arouse@summitps.org
Office Hours: Tuesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Alex Rouse grew up in Indianapolis, Indiana and graduated from Purdue University with a degree in English Education. Before graduating, Alex rode a bicycle …

Picture of Richard Irvan

Richard Irvan

10th Grade World History 2

rirvan@summitps.org
Office Hours: Wednesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Richard Irvan relocated with his wife to Seattle from New York City in 2014. He earned his B.A. in Interdisciplinary Social Science from Michigan State…

Picture of Peter Bakke

Peter Bakke

10th Grade Physics

pbakke@summitps.org
Office Hours: Wednesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Peter comes to Sierra from Lee High School in Northern Virginia, where he taught Biology for four years. He studied Biology at Davidson College…

Picture of Leah Temes

Leah Temes

11th Grade Precalculus

ltemes@summitps.org
Office Hours: Monday, 3:50-5:00pm

Leah Temes was born in Queens, New York to a family of book lovers and education- enthusiasts. She graduated with a degree in mathematics…

Picture of Crystal Visperas

Crystal Visperas

11th Grade AP Language

cvisperas@summitps.org
Office Hours: Tuesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Crystal hails from the great state of Texas! She grew up in a rural town, and after graduating…

Picture of Andrew Crook

Andrew Crook

11th Grade AP US History

acrook@summitps.org
Office Hours: Wednesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Mr. Crook grew up in Evanston, Illinois and Davis, California. He relocated to Seattle last summer from Los Angeles, where he attended UCLA …

Picture of Duchante Davis

Duchanté Davis

11th Grade Chemistry

ddavis@summitps.org
Office Hours: Wednesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Born and raised in Cleveland, OH, he graduated Magna Cum Laude from High Point University where he majored in Middle Grades Education with concentrations …

Picture of Stefan Sobiek

Stefan Sobiek

Spanish 1 + 2

ssobiek@summitps.org
Office Hours: Monday, 3:50-5:00pm

Stefan is originally from Reno, Nevada and came to us after four years of working at Leonard R. Flynn Elementary School in San Francisco…

Picture of Kelsey McGrath

Kelsey McGrath

Spanish 2 + 3

kmcgrath@summitps.org
Office Hours: Tuesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Kelsey is from outside of Chicago and earned her B.A. in Global Studies and Spanish from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign….

Picture of Cam Tu Nguyen

Cam Tu Nguyen

College Readiness Teacher & Adviser

cnguyen@summitps.org
Office Hours: Wednesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Born in Vietnam and raised in Tacoma, Cam Tu is the first in her family to earn a college degree. With the guidance of supportive mentors,…

Picture of Daniel Effland

Daniel Effland

Learning Specialist

deffland@summitps.org
Office Hours: Wednesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Born in Morgantown, WV but raised in Iowa and Western Maryland, Dan graduated from West Virginia University with a Bachelor of Music in Jazz…

PIcture of Ryan Vinson-Jacobs

Ryan Vinson-Jacobs

Learning Specialist

rvinson@summitps.org
Office Hours: Tuesday, 3:50-5:00pm

Ry earned a Bachelor of Science in Graphic Design from Drexel University and a Masters in Teaching (with a focus on Secondary English Language…